Skip to main content

The European Council decided to add Antigua and Barbuda, Belize and Seychelles to the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes.

At the same time, three jurisdictions were removed from the list i.e. British Virgin Islands, Costa Rica and Marshall Islands.

With these updates, the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes consists of the following 16 jurisdictions:

  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Belize
  • Fiji
  • Guam
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • Seychelles
  • Trinitad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Vanuatu

Background of the changes to the list

The above EU list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions includes countries that either have not engaged in a constructive dialogue with the EU on tax governance or have failed to deliver on their commitments to implement the necessary reforms aiming to tax transparency, fair taxation and implementation of international standards designed to prevent tax base erosion and profit shifting.

  • Additions to the list:

Antigua and Barbuda, Belize and Seychelles were added as all three jurisdictions were found to be lacking with regard to the exchange of tax information on request.

  • Removals from the list:

British Virgin Islands was removed from the list as it has amended its framework on exchange of information on request and will be reassessed in accordance with the OECD standard.

Costa Rica was delisted because it has amended the harmful aspects of its foreign source income exemption regime.

Marshall Islands was delisted as it has made significant progress in enforcement of economic substance requirements.

Read more

Request more information